Ellison, Dibble, Greene to represent MCTC

Keith Ellison speaks to the assembled crowd at the DFL Victory Party at the Hilton Hotel in Minneapolis, Minn. on Nov. 2, 2010. Earlier that day, voters elected Ellison -- the first Muslim to serve in Congress -- to his third term. (Photo by Caleb Williams/City College News)

Two familiar faces and an a new one will represent the area around MCTC in the upcoming legislative sessions.

Democrats U.S. Rep. Keith Ellison and state Sen. Scott Dibble handily won reelection to Minnesota’s Fifth Congressional District and the state senate District 60. Marion Greene won election to represent District 60A in the Minnesota House of Representatives.

Ellison, the first Muslim to be elected to U.S. Congress, who represents all of Minneapolis and portions of eastern Hennepin County, defeated challenger Joel Demos 68 percent to 24 percent. Ellison will serve a term of two years.

Dibble, who represents nearly all of southwest Minneapolis and a portion of downtown, defeated challenger Scot Adam Pekarek 80 percent to 20 percent. Dibble will serve a term of four years.

Greene will represent the northern portion of Dibble’s district in the Minn. House of Representatives, defeated challenger Brian Gruber 79 percent to 21 percent. Greene will serve a term of two years.

In a statement on her campaign website Greene said that she looking forward to working in Congress.

“Together we will move forward on creating jobs, expanding access to health care, strengthening education, promoting civil and human rights, improving transportation, and protecting the environment,” Greene said.

The results surprised few as Minneapolis is considered a democratic stronghold, having held the Fifth District since Jan. 3, 1963.

Incumbents win handily in several races

In other races in Minnesota, incumbents ruled the day as seven of the eight congressional delegates kept their seats.

In the First Congressional District which covers southern Minnesota from South Dakota to Wisconsin, DFLer Tim Walz won by a little over five points– the closest race in which the incumbent won reelection.

In the Second Congressional District, which covers a relatively small, but populous area south of the Metro, GOP candidate John Kline won by nearly 27 points.

In the Third Congressional District, which covers the western portion of Hennepin County, GOP candidate Eric Paulson won reelection to his second term.

In the Fourth Congressional District, which covers St. Paul and small areas outside Ramsey County, DFLer Betty McCollum won by nearly 24.5 points.

In the Sixth Congressional District, which covers an area in the north Metro, from Stillwater to St. Cloud, GOP candidate Michele Bachman defeated DFLer Tarryl Clark in the nation’s most expensive congressional race. The two candidates raised about $15 million combined.

In the Seventh Congressional District, which covers all of west and northwest Minnesota, DFLer Collin Peterson won reelection by just over 17.5 points.

The only surprise of eight districts was in the Eight Congressional District where GOP challenger Chip Cravaack unseated long-time congressman Jim Oberstar. Cravaack won by a narrow margin: 133,477 votes to 129,070 votes, or 1.59 percentage points. The Eighth covers much of eastern Minnesota above the Metro area, include the Arrowhead and Iron Range regions.

Information on which candidates took which precincts will not be available for several more days.

DFL maintains control of state wide positions

Minn. Attorney General Lori Swanson retained her seat easily. Here she speaks to the crowd at the DFL Victory Party in downtown Minneapolis, Minn. on Nov. 2, 2010. (Photo by Caleb Williams/City College News)

In the three state wide races for secretary of state, state auditor and attorney general, three DFL Candidates retained their positions, though much more narrowly than the congressional races.

In the closest contest, Rebecca Otto defeated GOP challenger Pat Anderson by about a point, or approximately 25,000 votes, to retain the position of managing the $20 billion local governments spend each year as state auditor. Anderson held the position from 2003 to 2007. Other notable people to hold the position include former Minnesota Gov. Arne Carlson and current candidate Mark Dayton.

Also in a close race, Mark Ritchie defeated GOP challenger Dan Severson for the position of secretary of state.

With a more than ten-point victory, Lori Swanson maintained her position as attorney general.